Cast named for MCT’s ‘A Raisin in the Sun’

Muskegon Civic Theatre has cast its production of playwright Lorraine Hansberry’s iconic American drama “A Raisin in the Sun.” Under the direction of Jeannette Casson, the ensemble includes Briana Hardy as Lena Younger, Brandon Davis as Walter Lee Younger, Da’kiya Covington as Beneatha Younger, Janet Adams as Ruth Younger, Jayluand Knight as Travis Younger, Jamelle Sargent as

Joseph Asagai, Ricarlo Winston as George Murchison, Reuben Miles Crosby as Bobo, Christopher Beaman as Karl Lindner, Jonathon Adams, Joe Hasper and Kirk Hunter as moving men, and Anita McCants as Mrs. Johnson.
The show will run Feb. 16 through March 4, 2018, in the downtown Beardsley Theater.
“A Raisin in the Sun” is set on the south side of Chicago. It concerns three generations of the Youngers, an African American family whose members dream of bettering their lives and moving to a better neighborhood. The Younger family’s conflicting hopes give rise to tensions as they face prejudice in moving into a white neighborhood.
“A Raisin the Sun premiered in 1959, starring Sidney Poitier as Walter, a role he reprised in the 1961 film adaptation. The original cast also included Ruby Dee, Ivan Dixon, Louis Gossett Jr., Glynn Turman and, as Karl, John Fiedler.

Categories: Theatre

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: